Media Releases

Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellows announced

Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 11:29
Community and Voluntary Sector

Community and Voluntary Sector Minister Jo Goodhew has today announced the 2017 Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowships.

“The Fellowships help talented New Zealanders from all walks of life to travel overseas and broaden their horizons, eventually returning home with inspiration and experience that benefits their professions and communities,” Mrs Goodhew says.

“The 18 Fellowships cover a diverse range of interest areas including refugee resettlement programmes, SPCA animal welfare best practice, conservation practices, and volunteer-led prisoner rehabilitation programmes.”

Some of the Fellowships awarded include:

  • The Hawkes Bay Design Trust Fellowship – awarded to Turumeke Harrington who will travel to Italy to attend Salone del mobile/design fair in Milan, and the European Design Academy Conference, to meet with local designers;
  • The NZ China Friendship Society Fellowship – awarded to Diana Coop who will travel to China and learn more about working practices of conservation of Chinese cultural materials.

“I would like to congratulate all of this year’s recipients. There will be a wealth of valuable experiences and knowledge which the recipients will bring back to New Zealand for use in a local context. I look forward to hearing about the positive results their experiences will bring about,” says Mrs Goodhew.

The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust (WCMT) was established in 1965 with funds from both the government and the public.

The full list of Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowship recipients can be found HERE.