Former Hamilton Boys’ High School student Christopher Mayo was presented with the Prime Minister’s Award for Academic Excellence by Education Minister Nikki Kaye this morning, at the New Zealand Qualifications Authority’s annual Top Scholar Awards ceremony held at Parliament.

The Top Scholar awards recognise the top achieving students from the most recent New Zealand Scholarship examinations.

There are 46 awards for the 2016 academic year, including the Prime Minister’s Award; 10 Premier Awards, for the top 10 Scholarship students, and 35 Top Subject Scholar Awards, which recognise the highest achievements in individual subjects.

“The Prime Minister’s Award for Academic Excellence recognises the best overall achievement and is the highest accolade a student can aim for at secondary school, so Christopher’s success is something both he and his school can be incredibly proud of,” says Ms Kaye.

“At Hamilton Boys’ High, Christopher distinguished himself as a true academic leader by consistently achieving to a very high level, and excelling in a diverse range of subjects.

“He received a total of eight New Zealand Scholarships in 2016, and his achievements illustrate what can be attained through hard work and dedication, along with the guidance and support of school and whanau.

“I congratulate Christopher on his success, and I’m sure he will continue to be an outstanding example for our young people.”

Ms Kaye also presented Premier Awards to Christopher, as well as:

Geoffrey Berntsen, Lindisfarne College Carlos Aguilera Cortes, Auckland Grammar School Yiannis Fam, Wellington College In Gyu (Lucas) Lee, Macleans College Sebastian On, Wellington College Kevin Shen, St Kentigern College Oliver Sutcliffe, Wellington College Yan (Tina) Zhang, Kristin School Yibin (Ben) Zhang, Macleans College.

Almost 7,500 students participated in New Zealand Scholarship examinations in 2016, with 2,355 students being awarded one or more scholarships.

More information about 2016 New Zealand Scholarship results is available on the NZQA website.


Share this post