Science and Innovation Minister Paul Goldsmith today announced three new appointments, as well as two reappointments, to the Science Board.

New members Dr David Wratt, Dr Jill Vintiner and Professor Aidan Byrne have been appointed to the Board for terms of three years. Dr Charlotte Severne and Professor Adam Jaffe were also reappointed for further terms of 3 years and 18 months respectively.

The Science Board is responsible for the allocation of funding used predominantly by research organisations for science, technology, research, and related activities.

“Science and innovation are key elements in our effort to boost New Zealand’s productivity, prosperity and wellbeing,” says Mr Goldsmith.

“To achieve this, we must invest in excellence and we must invest for impact. The Science Board plays a major role in ensuring we invest in quality research that makes a measureable contribution to New Zealand.

“These new appointments offer expertise in a range of science disciplines and the unique skills and experience each member brings will equip the Board with valuable insight.

“I would like to express my thanks to outgoing Board member Professor Janis Swan, who finished her term on 31 December 2016, for her contribution to the Board,” Mr Goldsmith says.

More information on the Science Board can be found on the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment’s website.

Share this post