Trade Minister Todd McClay has announced the formation of a Ministerial Advisory Group on trade to ensure the public is better informed on trade issues.

The Ministerial Advisory Group (MAG), part of today’s Trade Agenda 2030 announcement, includes representation from iwi, unions and NGOs, as well as industry bodies for primary industry, wood, tourism, education, horticulture, aviation and technology.

“Trade is of vital importance to New Zealand, helping support jobs and incomes and our growing economy, and we all have a stake in our trading future,” Mr McClay says.

“With the Government today renewing its commitment to free trade and forging new trade ties, it is important we take New Zealand with us – the MAG will help ensure that.

“It will allow the Government to consult with a wide array of stakeholders on trade issues, and ensure they have their say. The MAG will have the opportunity to provide feedback directly to me on developments in the trade agenda and will help to identify issues of importance.”

The MAG was identified as a key priority following public meetings in 2016 which were held to allow the public to have its say on the new trade agenda.   

“I am very pleased with the quality of the MAG membership and look forward to working constructively with them to advance important trade issues,” Mr McClay says.

More information can be found at


Federated Farmers President - William Rolleston Beef and Lamb Chair James Parsons Meat Industry Association CEO Tim Ritchie DCANZ Chair Malcom Bailey Horticulture NZ CEO Mike Chapman Pipfruit NZ Chair Nadine Tunley NZ Winegrowers CEO Phillip Gregan Seafood NZ CEO Tim Pankhurst Wood Council of New Zealand Chair Brian Stanley Tourism Industry Association CEO Chris Roberts Maori Tourism NZ Chair Pania Tyson-Nathan Aviation Industry Association CEO John Nicholson NZ Tech CEO Graeme Muller Universities New Zealand Chair Prof. Stuart McCutcheon NZ Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics Chair Charles Finny Business NZ CEO Kirk Hope Export NZ CEO Catherine Beard IBF Executive Director Stephen Jacobi Federation of Māori Authorities Chair Tracy Houpapa Iwi Leaders Forum Chair Ngahiwi Tomoana (Ngāti Kahungunu) Oxfam Executive Director Rachael Le Mesurier WWF Chair Dr Morgan Williams Council of Trade Unions President Richard Wagstaff

Share this post