Fourteen finalists representing 10 early learning services, schools and kura have been chosen from 142 entries in the prestigious 2017 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards, Education Minister Nikki Kaye announced today.

“I want to congratulate all the finalists on getting this far,” says Ms Kaye.

“It’s a huge achievement meaning they have demonstrated excellence in education to the panel of education experts.”

This year’s finalists include a broad range of educators from early learning services, a kōhanga reo, primary, intermediate, and secondary schools from right across the country.

“I was particularly pleased to see that four finalists are part of Communities of Learning |Kāhui Ako in their region. Belonging to such a community fosters these schools’ ability to share their good practice,” says Ms Kaye.

“Each of the finalists has shown innovative and effective teaching practice. They demonstrate how important it is to work with students and the wider community to ensure every child succeeds, and for teachers to work together and base their decisions on evidence.

“Every finalist and their community should take pride in what they’re doing and know that they are great examples of innovation and excellence to others throughout New Zealand and internationally.

“It’s really important that we take time to recognise and celebrate the very best in education, and learn from the innovation taking place at every level right across the country.”

A judging panel made up of a range of outstanding New Zealanders will visit finalists during May and June to see them in action.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony celebrating the best in education on 27 June. Winners will receive a financial award and a professional development opportunity.

Notes to Editors

List of finalists



Excellence in Engaging

Horowhenua College, Levin

John Paul College, Rotorua

Manurewa Intermediate, South Auckland

Papamoa Kindergarten, Bay of Plenty

Excellence in Leading

Manurewa Intermediate, South Auckland

Te Kōhanga Reo ki Rotokawa, Rotorua

Waitakere College, West Auckland

William Colenso College, Napier

Excellence in Teaching & Learning

Halswell School, Christchurch

Invercargill Middle School, Invercargill

Waitakere College, West Auckland

William Colenso College, Napier

Excellence in Governing

Auckland Kindergarten Association

William Colenso College, Napier


Share this post