Health Minister Jonathan Coleman has today appointed Chairs to the boards of Canterbury and South Canterbury DHB.

John Wood has been appointed Chair of Canterbury DHB, with Sir Mark Solomon continuing in his role as deputy Chair.

“Dr Wood has significant governance experience, a proven track record of drawing multiple agencies together to deliver key work programmes, as well as a strong local commitment to Canterbury,” says Dr Coleman.

“I would like to acknowledge Sir Mark for stepping up to the temporary Chair role following the resignation of the previous Chair, and thank him for his service.

“I’m confident Dr Wood and Sir Mark have the right mix of skills between them to make this a successful leadership team.

“Canterbury DHB has received an extra $399 million over the last nine years, including an extra $73 million this year, taking its budget to $1.5 billion.

“The Government recognises that the DHB has required extra support since the earthquakes, and we’ve provided an additional $106 million above the DHB’s bulk funding allocation, including a $20 million mental health package.

“Work continues in Canterbury to deliver the largest ever hospital redevelopment project in New Zealand’s history.

“The close to $1 billion redevelopment includes the $215 million new hospital facilities at Burwood (opened August 2016), a new $72 million Outpatients facility and the new $463 million Acute Services Building.”

Ron Luxton has been appointed Chair of South Canterbury DHB, with Paul Annear appointed as deputy Chair.

“I would like to acknowledge the continued service of Mr Luxton and Mr Annear,” says Dr Coleman.

“Both bring a great range of skills to the board, including a wealth of governance experiences as well as experience working in the health sector.”

Notes to Editors

Dr John Wood

A career diplomat, trade policy adviser and principal trade negotiator, Dr Wood retired from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade in 2006. Since that time he has gained significant governance experience on a range of boards including as Pro-Chancellor of the Canterbury University Council, Ministerial Appointee of the Lincoln University Council, member of Canterbury Museum Trust Foundation, President of the Canterbury History Foundation, Member of the Governing Board of the Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA), and Member of Te Urewera Governing Board. He is Chief Crown Negotiator for two major Treaty of Waitangi settlement claims, and has been the elected Chancellor of the University of Canterbury since 2011.

Sir Mark Solomon

Sir Mark is of Ngāi Tahu and Ngāti Kuri descent and was the former Kaiwhakahaere (Chair) of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu. Sir Mark sits on numerous commercial boards, and has played leadership roles in community, rūnanga, iwi and pan-Māori settings. Sir Mark was appointed Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2013, for services to Māori and business, and received an honorary Doctorate of Natural Resources from Lincoln University in 2015.

Ron Luxton

Ron comes from a pharmacy background spanning more than 35 years. As well as serving as Chair of South Canterbury DHB’s Community and Public Health Committee he is also a member of their Audit and Assurance Committee. He is currently Chairman of the Aoraki MRI Charitable Trust.

Paul Annear

Paul is an elected member of the South Canterbury DHB board since 2010. He is the Chair of the board’s Hospital Advisory Committee and a member of the board’s Master Facility Planning Group. Mr Annear has been a physiotherapist for a number of years in the South Canterbury region, owning a business and working predominantly with sports teams up to the highest level. This includes working with local South Canterbury rugby teams, the Otago Highlanders, various New Zealand age group rugby teams and the All Blacks. He has also been involved in coaching rugby locally in South Canterbury and has been the director and financial controller of a local boutique vineyard.


Share this post